Curtains!

Even though I have that super awesome new air-conditioner, with summer well on its way I decided to put some curtains up to keep that hot, hot sunlight out of my living room.  And so my dreams of becoming a cave dweller are one step closer to becoming a reality.

The window* in my living room is on the south side of the house.  While it is pretty shaded, some of the sun still sneaks through the leaves and causes a terrible glare problem on my tv.  And even though Annabel enjoys the warm spots on the couch, I do not.

This brings me to today’s project.  I had some brown curtains left over from my last apartment, where we had a window about the same size as the window* in my house.  I’m going to see how many different shades of brown I can use in my living room.

After I bought the curtain rod at Target, I got it home and started freaking out that it might be the wrong size.  I knew how big my window is**, but for some reason I was second guessing myself and tearing the house apart because of course, when I need it, I can’t find my tape measure.  Luckily, just as I was tear up the living room closet, James showed up and was kind enough to lie on the couch and use himself as a measuring tool.  He assured me that the curtain rod was the correct length.

So I got out my drill to make holes for the plastic anchors that came with the curtain rod.  First I had to guess what size drill bit to use, since there were no clues about it on the package.  Then I had to let the drill battery charge since I haven’t used it for awhile.  Then I had to try a couple other drill bits.  I finally found that the one I needed was the 1/4″ one.  If you buy a REstyle curtain rod from Target, that is the size you should use, even though they want it to be a mystery.

So finally, after watching Wheel of Fortune, playing Angry Birds, dodging hail to put my car in the garage, hanging out in the basement during the tornado and installing the curtain rod, here is the end result:

I think it’s time for a drink.

*James insists that this is not a real window, since it is just a pane of glass set into the wall.  He says a real window opens, and this one should just be called a glass wall since it is stationary.

**I hate this window and the fact that it doesn’t open.  I spent a week or so pricing new windows last spring, but in the end decided to just hope that a branch flies through it or something so the insurance will replace it.

Tagged: ,

3 thoughts on “Curtains!

  1. Bill May 28, 2011 at 3:37 pm Reply

    It is a picture window.

  2. Pat June 1, 2011 at 10:51 pm Reply

    does annabel count as one of the shades of brown?

  3. Melia June 7, 2011 at 5:35 pm Reply

    These look great! I’m glad that the house is coming along.

Leave a comment